We use our own and third party cookies. Continuing to browse implies acceptance.More information

Accept
Blog

Coeliac disease and gluten intolerance

Coeliac disease and gluten intolerance

Coeliac disease and gluten intolerance

Gluten is a protein that is very well known today by practically everyone. It is one of the allergens that are declared mandatory on the labelling of food due to the health consequences that it causes in some people, and we are very aware of it in our daily lives. However, there are many questions about this protein, and in this article, we will reveal the answers. What is gluten? What do I do if I am Coeliac? What if I do not tolerate it well? What are the symptoms of gluten intolerance?

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein made up of chains of glutenins and gliadins, better known as prolamins. This protein is found in cereals such as wheat, rye, barley, oats and of course quinoa… But sometimes, there is some confusion about what gluten free is, so we recommend that when buying gluten-free products you check the label. Quinua Real products are certified gluten free, so they can be consumed by people who are both Coeliac and gluten intolerant.

Gluten is not only found in cereals; however, we can find it in other industrial products, thanks to its properties that make products crispier and fluffier. It is also used as an additive to bind, or to add consistency, even in some medicines.

Coeliac disease and gluten or wheat sensitivity

Coeliac disease is a disorder caused by gluten that affects the digestive level, although it also causes symptoms beyond the intestine. This protein reacts to the immune system of people with Coeliac disease, causing damage to the lining of the intestine and destroying the villi in the intestine. When atrophied, these cannot absorb the food we eat.

The usual symptoms of this disease vary: diarrhoea, swollen stomach, weight loss, slow growth in children or anaemia…. The latter entails not having enough healthy red blood cells to carry oxygen to our tissues. Some people have more symptoms than others, some may not even be aware of any of them, although they still have intestinal damage.

The way to diagnose this disease is through a blood test, which looks for the presence of antibodies that would confirm the disease. Genetic tests are also performed to look for susceptibility to this disease. To confirm it however, it is necessary to perform an intestinal biopsy.

 

On the other hand, we find sensitivity to gluten or wheat, which is still under investigation. It is usually diagnosed in people who have a reaction when they eat gluten or wheat, but it has previously ruled out that they may have Coeliac disease, or some type of allergy to cereals with gluten. In the tests of a person with gluten or wheat sensitivity, no antibodies appear, nor do they have the genes that we do find in a person with Coeliac disease. The symptoms of this sensitivity are remarkably like those of Coeliac disease, however, and the treatment is the same.

I am Coeliac, what do I do now?

The only way to treat Coeliac disease is with gluten-free diet. This type of guideline is recommended only if it has been diagnosed through tests. In this way, misdiagnoses or false negatives are avoided.

Coeliac disease cannot be cured, so the guidelines for restricting foods that may contain gluten are for life. The restriction of these foods is achieved in a gradual way, in order to recover the intestinal injury.

That is why it is important to change our diet and introduce products that do not contain gluten, such as quinoa or other cereals free of this protein. It is especially important to avoid gluten completely, as just the slightest amount can trigger symptoms again.

Not all products contain gluten

In addition to rice, quinoa, millet or corn, which are gluten-free cereals by composition, there are other products on the market that do not contain this protein. Examples of this are fruits and vegetables, meat, fish. However, let us remember that due to its characteristics, the industry uses gluten to prepare certain foods, which is why we can find it in other products.

But can I be sure that the product I buy is gluten-free? We should always check the labelling and / or look for the mention "gluten-free" on them.

In our products, we follow a thorough process that helps us determine if they are gluten-free. For this reason, and to make life easier for consumers, we find two badges in gluten-free products that verify that they do not contain this protein. In the Quinua Real packaging you can find a logo in the shape of a green circle that includes the words "gluten free" inside. In addition, on the back of the packaging, it is also specified that this product is gluten-free. It is our guarantee for all our products!

Gluten-free products for all tastes

At Quinua Real we know the need to find quality gluten-free products, that is why we have a wide range for all tastes.

Our real quinoa and rice drinks are a sample of this, and, in addition to being gluten free, they are also without added sugar and with 100% vegetable ingredients from organic farming.

And as for a snack between meals, our bars are an easy-to-grab gluten-free snack Fancy one? Discover the taste of real quinoa!